Saturday, May 17, 2014

Sulu on Net Neutrality

"Well, this audience was built not by them, but by our efforts, by our creativity. And once we have that audience built, they want to charge us for it?" -- George Takei, talking about Internet Neutrality in an interview with The Washington Post.

It was your tax dollars that designed and built the Internet. It is your posting to Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, Tumbler etc. that makes the content that compels others to use the Internet.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Wow! Evernote hits one hundred million users

My favorite tool is also loved by over a 100,000,000 people.  Evernote announced the milestone in a blog post today.

It is an awesome tool.  If you are not using it, you should.

Saturday, May 10, 2014

An Open Email to the FCC

For background on this topic, please read the editorial I wrote for InsideNova.com

Subject:  Please be a proper steward of the Internet


Please be a responsible steward for all the American people when you take action regarding the Internet.
The Internet is as important as the Transcontinental Railroad was in the 19th Century, and the Rural Electrification Project, and the Interstate Highway System were in the 20th.  A free and open Internet is the critical infrastructure the 21st Century will be remembered.
It is up to you to protect it for everyone.
Most new jobs come from small companies, not large corporations.  And today to start a new business, even ones not entirely in cyberspace, the small companies need a level playing field online. 
The voices of the large players in this matter reach your ears readily.  Please listen also to people like me, ordinary citizens who recognize the importance of a free and open Internet.
Please take care when representing all of us. 
Thank you for your time.

I sent this to the following people, 


  • Thomas Wheeler Chairman Tel: 202-418-1000 Fax: 334-242-0921 thomas.wheeler@fcc.gov
  • Mignon L. Clyburn Commissioner Tel: 202-418-2100 mignon.clyburn@fcc.gov
  • Michael O'Rielly Commissioner Tel: 202-418-2300 michael.orielly@fcc.gov
  • Ajit Pai Commissioner Tel: 202-418-2000 ajit.pai@fcc.gov
  • Jessica Rosenworcel Commissioner Tel: 202-418-2400 jessica.rosenworcel@fcc.gov
  • Staff
  • Sean Lev General Counsel Tel: 202-418-1980 sean.lev@fcc.gov
  • Ruth Milkman Chief of Staff Tel: 202-418-0600 ruth.milkman@fcc.gov
  • Kris Monteith Acting Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau Tel: 202-418-1098 kris.monteith@fcc.gov
  • David Simpson Rear Admiral, Bureau Chief, Office of Public Safety & Homeland Security Tel: 202-418-1300 david.simpson@fcc.gov
  • Nick Sinai Director, Office of Energy & Environment Tel: 202-418-0534 nick.sinai@fcc.gov
  • Julie Veach Chief, Wireline Competition Bureau Tel: 202-418-1500 julie.veach@fcc.gov
  • Marlene H. Dortch Secretary Tel: 888-225-5322 marlene.dortch@fcc.gov
  • Jane Jackson Associate Bureau Chief, Wireline Competition Bureau Tel: 202-418-1500 Fax: 202-418-2825 jane.jackson@fcc.gov

If you want to send one as well, here is a comma delimited list of the email addresses :

thomas.wheeler@fcc.gov,mignon.clyburn@fcc.gov,michael.orielly@fcc.gov,ajit.pai@fcc.gov,ajit.pai@fcc.gov,sean.lev@fcc.gov,ruth.milkman@fcc.gov,kris.monteith@fcc.gov,david.simpson@fcc.gov,nick.sinai@fcc.gov,julie.veach@fcc.gov,marlene.dortch@fcc.gov,jane.jackson@fcc.gov

Friday, May 9, 2014

Family Tech: A way to manage all your passwords, easily.

I finally broke down and started using a password manager.  What took me so long?

It's a good idea, and the topic of this Family Tech column.